Peace

After my breakdown Wednesday, I realized I needed two things. 1) Sleep. 2) Time with God.
Wednesday night I went to bed early and felt much better the next day.  But not quite up to par yet.  I grabbed my Bible, a blanket and spent my lunch break in a field reading.

I decided to pick up where I had left off in my In The Bible reading, which was a couple chapters into Deuteronomy. My book mark, and God, were right there waiting for me with exactly what I needed:

Deuteronomy 4
28 There you will worship man-made gods of wood and stone, which cannot see or hear or eat or smell. 29 But if from there you seek the LORD your God, you will find him if you look for him with all your heart and with all your soul. 30 When you are in distress and all these things have happened to you, then in later days you will return to the LORD your God and obey him. 31 For the LORD your God is a merciful God; he will not abandon or destroy you or forget the covenant with your forefathers, which he confirmed to them by oath.

I don’t see it as any coincidence that this is where I stopped reading. That when I picked up my Bible again all this time later, the passage I would read would be the one telling me that God had not abandoned me in my distress and would be there whenever I decided to turn back to Him. And gently reminding me that my unrest had come from putting stock in objects and paychecks rather than trusting Him.

I wrote down all the things that had been troubling me and stuck them in my Bible.  And now … I still have problems, but I also have peace.

Leave a comment