Autism, cute boys and faith lines

This post is an update on my friend Jaclyn and her brother Joey whom I’ve mentioned a couple times in this blog now.

First of all, even though her Autism Awareness Month promotion is over, you can still buy a Joey’s Hot Dog necklace. Jaclyn will continue to donate $5 from the sale of each of these necklaces to Autism Speaks. Rumor has it green and orange beads will be showing up soon.

Second, Jaclyn appeared in a blog called Gospel of Weakness.  There she wrote about how her experiences with her brother have affected her faith and how she perceives God. Here’s an excerpt:

When I was about 9 and Joey was about 3, he was diagnosed with autism. About that point, my faith line took a nose dive. The paper wasn’t large enough to show the approximate location of where it landed. I didn’t stop believing in God, but I thought this higher power was very bad. I never consciously thought “I want nothing to do with God,” but I didn’t have to think it for it to be true.

Read the full post here.

One thought on “Autism, cute boys and faith lines

  1. Thanks for mentioning that post, Dana. Lots of people have come to read it already; it was an awesome piece of writing!

Leave a comment